Seven Main Chakras

Yoga and Meditation come hand in hand. They are great ways to work out both your physical and mental being, and have been practiced for thousands of years. Some believe in something called Chakras, energy spheres, or wheels, in our body. It is said that each person has over a hundred chakras, but there are seven main chakras located from our crown to our root. Each Chakra has its own “job” so to speak, and when they get blocked it can be hard to express particular qualities within one self. In this article I’m going to give a brief description of the seven main chakras, what their roles in our being are, and how to unblock them. 

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the top of your head, the crown chakra represents an individual's spiritual connection to yourself. Called the “the bridge to the cosmos,” it acts as the center to our spirit, enlightenment, wisdom, and connection to our higher guidance. To unblock our crown Chakra, one might burn essential oils like myrrh or frankincense, and repeat positive affirmations. 

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located between the eyes, this chakra is representative of our gut instincts or intuition. The third eye allows for clear thought and self reflection. To awaken your third eye, one could try by lightly bringing together the index finger to the thumb and close your eyes, gently. Next, breathe slowly. Inhale, exhale through the nose. With your eyes still closed, try to look up at the third eye, located just between your eyebrows

Throat Chakra (Vishudda)

Located in your throat, this chakra controls the tongue and communication skills and your ability to speak your inner truths. Without balance in the throat chakra, one can find it difficult to express how they truly feel or think, making communication with friends or loved ones foggy and blurred. To open your throat chakra, try yoga poses such as shoulder stands, plow, and fish, or sound vibration exercises. 

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Located in the center of our chest, near our heart, this chakra rules our ability to love and show compassion and empathy. Our ability to move love throughout our life and not only show but receive love from others relies on if our heart chakra is open or not. If it is blocked, try repeating love affirmations and burning incense like rose, lavender, sandalwood, and jasmine. 

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This chakra is located in the stomach area and governs personality, ego, identity, and choice. When our solar plexus chakra is blocked, one may struggle with self identity and confidence. To open this chakra, one must work on healing pain from the past. That can be through therapy, journaling, or acupuncture; find what works best for you. This is not an easy journey. 

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Located just below the belly button, the sacral chakra rules sexual and creative energy. It is said to be blocked by fear, especially fear of death. To open this chakra, try practicing posture and stability, and finding peace near bodies of water. Facing our fear is not an easy thing to do, but it can open a world of possibilities

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of our spine, the root chakra is responsible for foundation of life, staying grounded, our sense of security. To unblock your root chakra one might try certain guided meditations and burning incense such as rosewood, patchouli, and cedarwood. 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published